The road before me…

Hello, dear friends! It’s been quite a while, I know. I hope your summer has been filled with the Lord’s grace and blessings. Mine certainly has been. It was so good to be back in Texas (and come out to California) and visit with so many of you! I had such a restorative summer – catching up with wonderful friends, going country dancing, listening to a lot of live music that lifted my spirits and put a huge smile on my face, spending time outdoors in the great Texas Hillcountry; floating the river, getting caught in a rainstorm, and many other joys! Here are some snippets:

IMG_0872

It’s just good to be back in Texas!

IMG_0875

Fr. Brian Eilers – a great man of God who has inspired me so much!

IMG_0959

Blue Water Highway Band – you should check them out! Seriously!

IMG_0965

Getting together for some jam sessions with great musicians!

IMG_0999

This wonderful woman – Courtni Eaton – whom I will be serving with next year!

For the past week, I’ve been back in St. Paul, MN for our second missionary training session. Soon we will be shifting gears into the School of the New Evangelization, where we will be joined by around 200 college students. Before things get really busy, I wanted to share with you some of the highlights that have brought me excitement, inspiration, and encouragement as I prepare for serving the Lord again next year…

Firstly, I continue to be humbled in realizing that the Lord has called me to be a part of this mission. It was quite difficult for me to leave Texas at the end of July, but Jesus is about mighty works and it is so good for me to keep the commitment I’ve made to serve Him, even if that means moving far away from the people and places I love a lot! I was reminded of the need to get out of ourselves and go to the margins of those who are spiritually starved. I look forward to sharing with more students the simple reality of ‘there is a God, and God can make a difference in your life!’

Secondly, I am always discovering more about who God has created me to be, and what that means, exactly. One scripture that I found a lot of inspiration from is Colossians 1:28 – “Him we proclaim, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man mature in Christ.”  Yep, I’m still traveling down the road of becoming more mature in faith and as a woman of God. I pray to grow in prudence, humility, kindness in my speech, generosity in my actions and possessions, love of others, discipline, inner obedience, and trust in the Lord. Please pray for me!

Thirdly, all of YOU! I can’t even express just how much your encouragements, affirmations, prayers, smiles, and confidence in what I’m doing has built me up! Thank you for understanding the importance of this work and getting behind it in such powerful ways! I am blessed by each of you, and I can’t wait to have another year full of adventures to share!

“Therefore my beloved brethren, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.” 1 Cor. 15:58 

One thought on “The road before me…

  1. John and Doris Spellmann says:

    Grace and peace be with you during this coming year. Our prayers are with you. Keep the blogs coming. They are a real blessing. – John and Doris Spellmann

Leave a Comment

