Whew! Week 1 – done!

OK!! The first week kicked – off to a really great start! In collaboration with the Newman Center campus ministers and student leaders, we had root-beer floats after the 6:30pm Student Mass on Aug. 18th. There were so many new students to get to know and it was wonderful to meet them all! One of our visions for this year is to really have more of a visible Catholic presence on campus, so we brainstormed what we could do to promote effectively. Well, we tossed around a couple ideas and decided to continue with a catchy phrase that the previous chaplain had contrived: “Get your a** to Mass!”  With WVU coming in at the #1 party school in our nation, we figured that if we were going to grab these students attention, we would have to be bold. Now, I’m aware that it’s a bit controversial, and opinions differ widely… so bear with me. Yes, it does rock the boat, and that’s exactly what we need – initial shock value! There is a donkey on there too, so we can keep a sense of humor in case it got too rowdy. We headed up to the “Free Speech Zone” on campus with Ryan and Mike (the rest of our SPO team), our sign, and flyers to hand out. It was certainly a gamble to see what kind of response we were going to get, and well, check out what some of the students thought:

On Thursday, we had our Mountaineer Catholics event – there was a ton of free food, a corn hole tournament, a few students jammin’ with their guitars, a campfire, s’mores, and a whole bunch of new students! I began to experienced the reality of the scripture “Although I am free in regard to all, I have made myself a slave to all so as to win over as many as possible…I have become all things to all, to save at least some. All this I do for the sake of the gospel, so that I too may have a share in it.” (1 Cor. 9:19-23)  There is a much greater diversity of students this year than last year, and I was struck by how easy it is for me to unconsciously drift towards those who are similar to me. It was so good to realize this, get outside of my comfort zone and strike up conversation with anyone I happened to be standing close to. Was it hard? Um, yes! Was I socially awkward sometimes? Definitely! Was I wiped out by the end of the night? Completely! It was great!

Friday, Courtni and I finished some last minute preparations and then headed out to Lake O’Woods for our Women’s Household retreat! What a superb weekend! I am so so excited about being part of a household again this year. Last year, I really missed the community life that household living provides. Also, the women I get to live with this year are awesome!

IMG_1143

View of the lake on Saturday morning! So gorgeous!

IMG_1158

Got to spend some time in the water, too!

photo-1

It was very relaxing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our Household!!!

IMG_1160

Till next time, Lake O’Woods…

So, as we move on into week 2, I’m getting settled into more of a routine and schedule. I’m grateful for this because I definitely function better when there’s consistency! The calendar is filling up with things to do, and I love it! Tonight is the first Lux Et Tenebrae Mass on campus, which is a candle-lit night service at 9pm. I really enjoyed attending this last year, and I’m so glad they are continuing it. I might be able to play violin for it sometimes as well, which would bring me so much joy! I’ll keep you posted!

God bless y’all!

Oh! By the way… here’s my address this year:

330 Wilson Ave. #2   –  Morgantown, WV 26501

Leave a Comment

